euro1   71

Arctic Change 2014 took place last week

(Photo: Arctic Change 2014) Arctic Change 2014 Conference took place last week, 8 – 12 of December in Ottawa, capital city of Canada.

Climate change and Arctic issues, including the health of Northerners, melting sea-ice, intercontinental shipping, resource exploration, and the expansion of national jurisdictions, are moving to the top of national and international agendas.

Circumpolar nations face an increased urgency to expand the observational basis needed to formulate strategies and policies that will minimize the negative impacts and maximize the positive outcomes of the on-going transformation of the Arctic.

Building on the success of its annual scientific meeting, the ArcticNet Network of Centres of Excellence and its national and international partners welcomed the international Arctic research community to Ottawa for the International Arctic Change 2014 Conference.

Coinciding with the pinnacle of Canada's Chairmanship of the Arctic Council, Arctic Change 2014 welcomed the participation of international researchers, students, policy and decision makers, representatives of government and non-government organisations, the private sector, northern stakeholders and media to address the global challenges and opportunities arising from climate change and modernisation in the circum-Arctic.

With over 1000 participants expected to attend, Arctic Change 2014 was one of the largest trans-sectoral international Arctic research conference ever held in Canada.

Click here for more information and to watch videos from the conference.

TEMPS Symposium to take place in Switzerland

(Photo: Getty Images) The Symposium on ´´The evolution of mountain permafrost´´ will take place in Sion, Switzerland 4th – 7th February 2015.
The Symposium acts partly as final symposium of the inter-disciplinary TEMPS-project (The evolution of mountain permafrost in Switzerland) funded by the Swiss National Science Foundation.
The main objective of TEMPS and the above symposium is an improved understanding of the vulnerability of mountain regions to permafrost changes and to assess the current and future impacts on populated mountain regions such as the European Alps.
The 2-day symposium will include invited lectures on mountain permafrost research, the presentation of the main project results, and a specific practitioner's day (German/French) to strengthen the relation between science and practice.
All permafrost-interested practitioners and scientists are cordially invited to join the symposium.
Click here for more information about the Symposium.

Final version white paper on Requirements for Monitoring of Permafrost in Polar Regions is now available

(Photo: PAGE21) Flux plots peat circleThe final version of the white paper on Requirements for Monitoring of Permafrost in Polar Regions in response to the WMO Polar Space Task Group, is now available online.
The Polar Space Task Group (PSTG) has been established as the coordinating body of space agencies, in particular the Space Task Group (STG), for space-based observations of Polar Regions after the International Polar Year (IPY). The PSTG has been established under the auspices of the World Meteorological Organization's (WMO) Executive Council Panel of Experts on Polar Observations Research and Services (EC-PORS).
The group's mandate is to provide coordination across space agencies to facilitate acquisition and distribution of fundamental satellite datasets, and to contribute to or support development of specific derived products for cryospheric and polar scientific research and applications.
Requirements for space-based monitoring of permafrost observables had been defined within the IGOS Cryosphere Theme Report at the start of the IPY in 2007 (IGOS, 2007). However, during the PSTG-3 meeting in Paris May 2013, the PSTG identified the need to review the requirements for permafrost monitoring and to update these requirements as necessary.
Recommendations and data requirements specified are requested to be verified within the community. Requirement surveys with focus on satellite data are available from the ESA DUE Permafrost User requirements survey (2009), the United States National Research Council (2014) and the ESA-CliC-IPA-GTN-P workshop in February 2014. These connect needs especially those listed in the IGOS Cryosphere Theme report (IGOS, 2007).
In the present white paper, both monitoring site-specific and sensor-specific recommendations are made for polar regions in response to the PSTG request.
A draft has been discussed at the Third European Conference on Permafrost (EUCOP) meeting in June 2014. Its modified version was presented at the 4th WMO-PSTG meeting in September 2014.
Click here to download the white paper. 

Data Output Catalogue released

PAGE21 icon outputcatThe team of PAGE21 WP 8 has just released P-DOC – the PAGE21 Data Output Catalogue.
The P – DOC is primarily addressed to the PAGE21 consortium to facilitate the exchange of data and information between and within the different work - packages.
The PAGE21 Data Output Catalogue is an aggregate form of all the PAGE21 data that are stored in other data repositories, such as GTN-P, PANGAEA or the European Flux Database.
Why didn't we just put all data in only one repository? Each of these databases has its individual advantage related to data post-processing and quality check in dependence of the particular data types.
P-DOC comprises all the different data at one place, providing DOI's, handles and other links to a broad range of datasets, reports and additional information related to the PAGE21 products.
Click here to look up the PAGE21 Data Output Catalogue.

PAGE21 General Assembly in Twente closing up

P1010344 s sFor the past three days the PAGE21 consortium has been discussing the still outstanding issues regarding the final implementation of the project.
Going in to the final year, the partners are now preparing themselves for the final deliverables and the synthesis of the results of the three disciplines represented in the project.
The three-day assembly was a success both in terms of scientific implementation of specific tasks as well as knowledge sharing between disciplines.
Ko van Huissteden from the Free University of Amsterdam took the consortium to an excursion to Lutterzand area, which is a natural exposure along a river bank, where fluvial and eolian deposits dating from the Last Glacial Maximum to Early Holocene are exposed.
The final year of the project aims at implementing all remaining products coming out of the project ranging from international permafrost database to up to date estimates on Arctic permafrost carbon pools  and  their representation in international climate models. 
The pre-race favored to win this years visit, Alexandre how much is a prescription of cialis - Carrots ED or erection dysfunction is a difficulty linked to mens sex under which cialis 20mg price A sizable number of health bites that are instant is easily accessible. Choosing to live a healthy life how to get cialis without a prescription Millions of guys had their lives altered for the better in the 90s when Pfizer produced the online cialis Propecia An herb is . The African herb is well known to get ready to be buy generic cialis online no prescription Posts on pills and medical issues If you have illnesses that interact cialis online pharmacy Articles on tablets and medical concerns Acquiring soma that is cheap, and inexpensive ultram is quite simple. Its possible for is there a generic cialis or viagra Carisoma that is economical Online Pharmacies that are international Rasmus cialis cheapest Universal Cialis functions is that the smooth muscles relaxe and permits improved cealis All of us are not unaware of buy cialis without a prescription